ELEPHANT ROCK

ImageImageImageImageImageImage

 

Elephant rock was one of our stops on our third day of the road trip my dad and I went on. It was about an hour before we reached the high point of Missouri.  It was a really unique piece of landscape and reminded me a lot of places out west where theres a lot of bare rock and gigantic land forms. We began our hike in a forest, but it slowly wrapped around this big mass of rock that stuck out above the surface of the forest.  There were really cool views from up there and some sweet rock formations to climb around.  It was a fun place to do some interesting photography.  In some shots, because all you see are rocks, it is hard to even tell the scale of them or how large they were.  Hopefully with the one with my dad jumping across a gap between the rocks you can get a better scale of how big these giant rocks were. It was about midday and very sunny when we were shooting giving very harsh like, but as long as you shot with the sun, this brought out a lot of great, sharp texture from the rocks.  It also brought out some very vibrant colors both in the rock and with the nice clear sky, I was able to pull out some very deep blues. With these vibrant colors and harsh light and interesting rock, I took some time capturing some of the unique textures and colors found on the different rocks as you can see on some of these bottom shots. It was a really cool stop and just reminded me of the beauty of the earth.  I still dont really understand how or why these random, elephant sized rocks were just hanging out in this forest, but they were certainly a pleasant sight! 

 

 

Image

These were shot with my Nikon D600 with my 24-75mm f/2.8.

 

 

-ZAM

 

 

1 thought on “ELEPHANT ROCK

Leave a comment