CHUCKS (THE INNER WORKINGS)

ImageImageImageImageImage

For a recent photojournalism project, our assignment was to go capture the essence of a place.  One that came to mind that I thought would be interesting to document and share photos for would be Chucks, our dining hall at Cedarville University, named after Chuck McKinney who retired this year. One reason I wanted to document this place was because it is a place that every student is very familiar with, yet probably has hardly any idea what goes on beyond the scenes.  This is how it was for me before I started working there. The extent of my chucks knowledge didn’t go any further than what was behind the counter.  Beyond that wall behind that counter was a complete and utter mystery to me that just produced a mass of food feeding over 9000 meals daily to hungry college students.  My attempt for this assignment was to kind of break down those walls and reveal the inner workings, as well as capturing the ding aspects that are familiar to the students. It is an incredible operation they put on everyday.  Over the past few years I have had the opportunity to work with a lot of these great pioneer staffers and other chucks student workers and been tasked with many different operations ranging from kitchen prep to washing dishes.  I love the opportunities of going behind the scenes and seeing how things work and so I hope you enjoy this little look of what goes on in the kitchen.

Image

These were shot with my Nikon D600 with my 24-75 mm 2.8 at ISO 800 with f/2.8 and 1/160s.

 

 

-ZAM

lens rental

Leave a Reply

