SNOWY DAY

ImageImageImageImageSnowy Day-04Image

Two nights ago hardly anyone from our house was able to make it up our driveway because of the crazy amount of snowfall last night and how steep our driveway was. So we all parked a quarter mile away from our house at the Indian Mound lot so our driveway could get plowed in the morning. Because of that extra long, slow walk down the driveway in the morning however, I was able to appreciate and recognize all of the intricate beauty of the fresh fallen snow strung about in the trees.  If I hadn’t already been late to work then, i would have dropped everything and taken my time photographing the fresh snow.  I hadn’t had the opportunity to photograph snow yet with my new D600 so I was really hoping I would get a chance.  It was also then that I got very inspired for my photo shoot I would hopefully have time to do later that day.  With all of the fresh fallen snow and dull tones of all of the trees it covered, it felt like I was living in a black and white world.  It was then that I knew I was going to find any free time I could yesterday and capture this black and white world feel with all of the crazy texture I was experiencing as I looked through the thicket of trees laid in snow. So as soon as I was done working and done taking care of a few tasks I filled up my tank and just drove around looking for some great scenes for this black and white world I was envisioning.  I drove around and shot for about and hour and a half.  It was nice because of the very overcast, bleak day, it gave me very even lighting so I could just keep my exposure at the same settings through most of the day and make my main focus the composition and the contrast of the snow versus dull trees.  After taking the shots I uploaded them and during post processing I immediately turned the saturation all the way down on them so that as I was sorting them my focus was primarily on the white and black contrast and not distracted by any muted colors. Then I would bring up the clarity and contrast quite a bit to increase the bold transitions from white to black in my photo.

ImageThese were shot on my Nikon D600 with my 24-75mm 2.8 at 1/1000s f/7.1 ISO 200 with the exception of the waterfall shot which was a 1/2 second exposure.

-ZAM

lens rental

3 thoughts on “SNOWY DAY

Leave a Reply

