SURF, SAND, AND SEA GULLS (FORT LAUDERDALE)

ImageImage

Image

Aimlessly exploring towns is one of my favorite things to do.  Whenever I travel, I love to see the main tourist sites, but i also love to go off the beaten path a bit and see what everyday life is like for the locals. I love different cultures and I love just witnessing them and contrasting how different some people’s ordinary life is from mine. Yesterday I had the opportunity to do this in Fort Lauderdale.  After we went to church in Miami, we stopped in Fort Lauderdale to grab some lunch.  I wasn’t quite hungry yet and figured that rather than eatting in a neat little coastal town like this, I would rather walk around the town and see what life was like there.  My journey ended up taking me to the beach. Here I saw a few surfers who were just enjoying the afternoon by riding a few waves in. There were also a few skim boarders who would try to catch the tail end of the wave before it receded back into the ocean.  What an extremely chill way to spend the afternoon.  There were also a few families enjoying the sun together with picnics and playing paddleball.  One man even found the luxury spot of sprawling out in a hammock suspended between two palm trees, the epitomy of rest and relaxation.  Another man was scouring the beach with his metal detector trying to find any lost treasures that fell out of the pockets of casual beach goers. One last man I met was a Jamaican man.  He was visiting some family there and he was complaining about how cold the 70 degree weather there.  Of course that was extremely warm for me compared to the 20 degree weather we had left in Cedarville, but definitely cold compared to the 90 degree weather they had had a week prior.  He actually helped me out with a few shots.  I was having fun shooting this very tame group of sea gulls right along the waters edge but I wanted to get some action out of them. So I had my jamaican friend gently throw some shells  at the gulls just to get them to stir a little bit.  He did a great job and gave me the opportunity to catch some great detail of the birds in action.  Gulls may be annoying but they really are quite beautiful birds contrasted against the deep blue water.  Over all it was a great afternoon for catching Fort Lauderdale in action from the surfers to the gulls. A peaceful Sunday afternoon.

ImageThese were shot with my Nikon D600 with both the 28-75mm f/2.8 and 70-200mm f/2.8.

 

 

-ZAM

 

Leave a Reply

